Skip to content

The 5 Levels of Evaluation of Your eLearning Program [Infographic]

Evaluating eLearning can happen in two phases – before rolling out the training and after the training is rolled out.

When evaluation of eLearning happens during the development and implementation of the online training program, it is known as formative evaluation. This is carried out to improve the training program. The second phase, known as summative evaluation, focuses on the impact of the eLearning course and assesses the extent to which the course has achieved its goals. 

eLearning to Achieve Business Goals


When we talk about evaluating eLearning, post-completion of the training program, the most popular model used is Kirkpatrick’s evaluation model. Level 1 measures how well learners liked a training program. Level 2 measures the knowledge and skills gain. Level 3 measures changes in on-the-job behavior, and Level 4 measures the increase in quality, quantity, or productivity.

To these 4 levels, the Philips model added a 5th level which is return on investment (ROI). This level compares a training program’s cost to its monetary benefits and is presented as a cost/benefit ratio.

Here’s an infographic on the 5 levels of eLearning evaluation that can be conducted.

Pin it

Evaluating eLearning at 5 Levels: What You Need to Know

Pin it

Which level of eLearning evaluation are you currently conducting in your organization? To know more about the different levels of evaluating eLearning and in specific, about ROI in eLearning, download this free eBook.

The State of Learning: 2023 and Beyond